Gun Grease

This is a place to discuss shooting related topics and techniques.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

charlesb
Master contributor
Master contributor

Gun Grease

Post by charlesb » Fri May 16, 2014 11:30 pm

Besides being a shooter, I am also a ham radio operator and sometimes the two hobbies tend to overlap here.

Looking around my shop for a good gun grease for my M1A, I decided to try some "Archer Professional Lube Gel" that I had bought a while back at Radio Shack.

It's billed as a multipurpose lubricant with Teflon.

They claim: Superior Adhesion, Non-toxic, non-corrosive, won't wash off, disperse, break down or turn rancid, does not attract dirt, impervious to salt or fresh water, temperature range -65 to 650 degrees.

It worked as advertised on the M1A, it really does stay in place and does a great job. After 300 rounds, I was going to re-grease the gun but it wasn't really necessary.

It's clear, and goes where you want it with a small watercolor brush.

Later I tried it on the cocking cam on the bolt to my Savage model 16 bolt-action rifle and it did a great job there as well.

The best feature is how it stays in place so well.

Anyway, if you are looking for a really good gun grease, the Archer stuff from Radio Shack is really outstanding. I like it a lot better than Hoppes gun grease or Lubriplate.

A tube of this stuff, and a container of Mobil One synthetic motor oil is about all that is really needed for gun lubrication.

blue68f100
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by blue68f100 » Sat May 17, 2014 8:55 am