Which scope for a Ruger Mark lll

Discuss .22 pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

JLB

Which scope for a Ruger Mark lll

Post by JLB » Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:02 pm

Hello,

I am just getting into .22 pistol shooting. I bought a Beretta Neos with a BSA Red Dot. Found it was not the gun for me. Sold it.

I have just bought a Ruger Mark lll competition model. I also got a Ultadot Matchdot to go with it.

I am also wanting to get a scope in the 2x7 range and liked the Leupold 66620 (2.5-8x32mm) till I saw the price. What other options do I have. I will spring for it, if that is the best product for the price. I'd rather spend the money and get quality.

Thanks, Jim

blue68f100
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by blue68f100 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:52 pm

JLB, Welcome to Guntalk-Online

When it comes to scopes you need to decide how much eye relief you need. Most pistols scopes have a max of 20" but there are a lot with only 8-10". So you need to figure out how your going to shoot it, 1 handed, 2 handed, with or without rest. Then have someone measure what eye relief you need. Nikon's EER series has the most eye relief. As you go up in power the eye relief goes down. Leupold makes a very good scope and is one of my favorites. I have a Bushnell 2x and it does not give me enough eye relief (20") to shoot with my arms extended. So I do not use it very often because I have to use a reset.
David

SS MKIII 6 7/8" Fluted Hunter. Mueller Quick Shot, Bushnell 2x Scope, Hogue Rubber Grips
Custom Built 1911

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:33 pm

Welcome to Guntalk-Online!

R,
Bullseye

bearandoldman
Ye Loquacious Olde Pharte

Post by bearandoldman » Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:02 pm