Problems zeroing new Nikon 6-18 BM scope on New 10/22 DSP

Discuss .22 Rifles.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

JimK

Problems zeroing new Nikon 6-18 BM scope on New 10/22 DSP

Post by JimK » Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:54 pm

Hi Folks! I've been reading some of the past posts on the forum regarding "scopes" and recognized myself as one of those guy's who thought all you had to do was zero the darn scope in and you were ready to go. I never thought much about the rise of the bullet (trajectory) only that it fell/dropped over a certain distance. I didn't know that it rose after leaving the muzzle of your gun: uhoh: so now you know where I'm coming from when it comes to shooting with a scope. lol
I have a Mini 14, Bushmaster AR15 a3 (both 223's) and have used only the iron sights on them. Well.....I take that back.....I did strap on a friends little Hakko 4x on the carry of the AR last year and liked that.
Anyway I got a new Ruger 10/22 DSP 22LR rifle and a Nikon Buckmaster 6-18x scope the other day thinking it would be a lot of fun, inexpensive and good way to entertain and train my grandson in some target shooting (I might add....a lot of fun for me as well). I'll only be doing paper targets from 25out to maybe 100 yrds at the very most and perhaps enter the matches they hold for rimfire rifles twice a month.
It's so hot down here I can't go to the outdoor range so I took the rifle and scopt to a little indoor range with a 25 yrd target range. I spent about an hour and a half trying to zero in that scope and couldn't get it done. Got it centered finally, but I could only raise it to about 3" below the target bullseye no matter how much I turned that elevation knob.
I used the weaver style mount that came with the gun and Mullet med high 1" rings because they're strong enough for 22's and light.