First day of competition!

A section to discuss marksmanship issues: techniques, equipment, experiences, etc.

Also, a place to ask marksmanship related questions to seek information from the vast knowledge base of this forum's membership.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

Hakaman
Master contributor
Master contributor

First day of competition!

Post by Hakaman » Sat May 07, 2011 4:48 pm

It was a great day in Hakaland today, weather was "picture" perfect for rifle shooting. Calm winds, cool-mild temps, and the sun was lighting up the targets nicely. I was able to, for the first time, try out my new "Micro Sight" during competition. I can't say enough about the device, it just plain works for me. I am just learning the sport of service rifle shooting, and am probably one of the lower scorers in my league, but I shot my highest score so far, and it's the first day of service rifle this year. My average from last year was probably around 380ish, and my biggest bane was not being able to see the target clearly. In fact, I usually had seen 2 or 3 blurred targets, faintly. That was until now, now that I have the micro sight installed, I see a "distinct" front sight bar, and distinct black target dot. As seen from the score sheet below, the 436 is 56 points higher (give or take a point or two) then my last years average. I can actually focus on a clear sight picture. It feels great to actually shoot well. Off hand is my troubles now. A 436 is a decent score with the poor 72 on my off hand. Throughout the shoot, I find many areas for improvement as well. I was able to call my shots on the flyers shown on the target included. My goal this year is to break 450, and I think it is well within my reach. My high score last year was 403 :oops: , and I have already blown that out of the water.
The target included below is the "simulated" 600 yard target, shot at 200 yards, in the "Prone" slow fire configuration.

ImageImage