Pull marks

The place to discuss reloading techniques.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

Gatorfan316

Pull marks

Post by Gatorfan316 » Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:14 am

I am new to reloading and recently go a great deal on some 162 grain 30.06 bullets (mil surp) but they have pull marks on them. Some are just light scarring and some are slightly deeper so that you can barely feel them with your fingernail. Will these pull marks affect the load process or the performance of the round?

Hakaman
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by Hakaman » Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:13 pm

Not the most experienced reloader, but I would say no it doesn't matter. The basis for my thought is what happens to a bullet when it is fired? It gets heavily rifled as it goes through the barrel, and it is 'pulled' out of the brass at that time. It doesn't sound like the marks are too bad at all, and for military surplus I wouldn't think they would shoot as well as match ammo anyway. If you want accuracy, you should invest in match ammo. You didn't say what you were going to use them for, competitive shooting, hunting, etc. Most people can't shoot as well as their guns and ammo anyway. I personally would not hesitate to use them.
Haka

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:54 pm

Welcome Gatorfan!

Pullet performance could be effected if the marks are in a critical area, the bullet's nose would be a good example. What kind of pull marks are these? What do you intend to use these reloaded rounds for shooting-wise? Were the bullets collet pulled and the collet fingers were just overtightened?

Many military manufactured rounds have a laquer seal applied to both the bullets and the primers to keep out moisture. This seal often makes them more difficult to pull out and therefore require more force to accomplish the task. Sometimes this leaves some marks on the ogive of the bullet which doesn't generally impact the bullet's flight.

R,
Bullseye

Gatorfan316