Laser sights

The place to discuss the inner workings of firearms.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

Stew

Laser sights

Post by Stew » Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:36 am

I am thinking of adding a laser to my LC9s. I have never used a laser before and wonder if there is any advantage to Red or Green?
Stew
Florida

arizona-hermit
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Lasers

Post by arizona-hermit » Fri Sep 12, 2014 12:33 pm

It is personal preference really (what your eyes see best).

I find I can see red more in the daylight and night than I can see green.
But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me did not prove vain. [1 COR 15:10a - NASB]

Coach1
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Post by Coach1 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:01 pm

I will support the 'zona Hermit in that the preference is per the shooter's eyes.

My old eyes prefer Green in all light. I cannot see red on black very well.

One - perhaps obvious - comment regarding self defense handgun lasers is that the
shooter focuses on the target... rather than a front sight.

In a high stress situation, looking at the threat is typically a more 'normal' response.

The laser dot is, therefore, evidence the muzzle is pointing where you need it.
Coach
"You can't always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, you just might find, you get what you need." The Rolling Stones

Coach1
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Post by Coach1 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:07 pm

BTW, Stew.
I see this is your first posting. So, welcome! to the GTO forum.
Your will find a great group of folk here ready to share their experiences and technical knowledge...
and occasionally some odd ball humor. :D
"You can't always get what you want. But if you try sometimes, you just might find, you get what you need." The Rolling Stones

blue68f100
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by blue68f100 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:38 pm

All depends on what your eyes see the brightest. I see Red brighter, have them on my Kimber UCII.