Empty Package

The place to discuss items of a general nature or items that do not fit into the other categories.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

charlesb
Master contributor
Master contributor

Empty Package

Post by charlesb » Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:56 pm

Today I got a package from Brownell's, and was flabbergasted when I opened it up. The packing material, invoice and a few advertisements were in there... Everything except for the part that I had ordered!

I called them up and explained. The fellow I talked to apologized and said the part would go out by priority mail.

I guess the guys in the shipping department slipped up somehow. At any rate, my wife and I thought it was funny. - She regretted not being there when I opened the package.

I've been working with Brownell's for thirty years I guess, and this was their first mistake. Fortunately it wasn't anything that I can't afford to wait a bit for, it was for my gun and not a customer's. - So no harm was done.

What I ordered was a "SoftEye", a rubber accordion-like affair with an eyepiece that attaches to the objective on a rifle scope.

http://www.brownells.com/search/index.h ... &ksubmit=y

It's supposed to give you a better sight picture, and protect you from scope eyebrow... I just thought it looked neat and wanted to give it a try. It reminds me of something I once saw in a picture of a German naval ack-ack gun from WWII.

I'm looking forward to trying it out. It surprises me that I haven't seen one of these before on tactical rifles, it's a real official-looking gadget for sure.

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:44 pm

Plus you can pull it off your scope and put your hand over one end and your palm over the other, then in the field you can have a make-shift duck call. :D

R,
Bullseye

charlesb
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by charlesb » Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:57 am