Using iron sights.....accurately???

Discuss .22 pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

chadflys
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Using iron sights.....accurately???

Post by chadflys » Wed Feb 04, 2009 5:17 pm

I'm new to this target shooting...Got my MKII a month ago. Some advice that I had received a while back was to get to where I could hold the 5.5 ring at 75ft., at which point I'd be good enough for a trigger modification.

Is that reasonable? I've gone through about 800 rnds now and its hard to say I've improved. I'd say I could consistantly hit a dime at 10 and 15ft....at 20ft about a 1.5in group....at 30ft I start having trouble keeping it inside 3in....consistantly.

With a 2x scope my groups were inside 3in at 75ft.

What should I expect from myself as a fairly novice shooter?
Should I go ahead and upgrade my trigger now?
Are there better iron sights that the standard tartget sights?

Thanks,

Chad

toyfj40
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by toyfj40 » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:37 pm

I'm not the "disciplined marksman" that I fantasize of being...
but I don't mind being a "critique"... --grin

first, congrats on some steady shooting.
second, 'a month' ?? ... just getting started.
800 rounds... that's less than one practice-session for some.

give yourself time to begin to sense where your shot will hit
before you see/check. as you "know" where the hole will be
and you sensed that you shot hi/lo/left/right... and can 'call it'...
this will easily be a few thousand rounds...

also, since each chamber and bore can be subtly sensitive to
various stock .22 ammo and we can't custom-load ...
what ammo are you using?
IF it is the Walmart-bulk boxes... the ammo 'standard deviation'
may be some of your group-size.
Which MK2 do you have? how old it is? any guesstimate of
how much it was used/broken-in ?
How's your trigger-finger? and trigger-break?

Set a goal and carefully work toward meeting it...