Steel shot

The place to discuss all aspects of shotgun shooting.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

jaeger45
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Steel shot

Post by jaeger45 » Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:23 am

I've never used steel shot before.

Is it true that they damage the barrel in the long run?

I've got a Rem 870 12-ga using 2-3/4 shells, and I'll have a full choke installed for ducks.

Pros and cons will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
A bad shot is often caused by a loose nut behind the buttplate

bearandoldman
Ye Loquacious Olde Pharte

Re: Steel shot

Post by bearandoldman » Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:28 am

jaeger45 wrote:I've never used steel shot before.

I've got a Rem 870 12-ga using 2-3/4 shells, and I'll have a full choke installed for ducks.

It will pattern a little tighter than leadd, so you can use one size looser choke. Th only damage I have ever heard was from using it in an older gun with thinner barrels. Your gun has choke tubes that interchange so it has a heavier wall barrel than the older guns.
You have great day and shoot straight and may the Good Lord smile on you.

jaeger45
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Re: Steel shot

Post by jaeger45 » Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:56 pm

bearandoldman wrote:
jaeger45 wrote:I've never used steel shot before.

It will pattern a little tighter than leadd, so you can use one size looser choke. Th only damage I have ever heard was from using it in an older gun with thinner barrels. Your gun has choke tubes that interchange so it has a heavier wall barrel than the older guns.
Thanks, Len. BTW, my 870 replacement bbl will come by the end of the month with full, mod and i/c chokes. Hope I'll be drawn for ducks.