Exercises to limber up for shooting

A section to discuss marksmanship issues: techniques, equipment, experiences, etc.

Also, a place to ask marksmanship related questions to seek information from the vast knowledge base of this forum's membership.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

J Miller
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Exercises to limber up for shooting

Post by J Miller » Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:20 pm

Some months back I started shooting in an email shooting league. What I found was that due to injuries to my back and neck, I'm no where near as limber as I used to be. I can't assume the shooting positions I used to without pain developing in the muscles of my back, neck and shoulders. And this is magnafied when I try to shoot one handed. I have a nerve damage caused weekness in my right hand, arm and shoulder that I am fighting with.
I've come home from just a couple hours of deliberate shooting totally exhausted from this pain.
My problems are compounded in that some of my vertabre are fused from arthritus and old injuries. I simply cannot twist as I used to. So I twist other places to compensate.
So far that's not working too good.

What my questions are, is there any forms of exercises someone could recomend for me to do that would stretch and limber me up so I can shoot more?

I've tried to do some at the range, but usually I just waste my time.

Thanks,

Joe

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:54 pm

It sounds like you're looking for a little shooting physical therapy. First, has you doctor approved you for this type of activity? The jarring on you joints and neck from recoil can cause you pain and even further nerve damage.