Interesting day of Bullseye training!

A section to discuss marksmanship issues: techniques, equipment, experiences, etc.

Also, a place to ask marksmanship related questions to seek information from the vast knowledge base of this forum's membership.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

Adam67
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Interesting day of Bullseye training!

Post by Adam67 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:45 am

Now here is an interesting thing. I'm new to Bullseye shooting. Been shooting less than a month and ONLY on Tuesdays for a couple hours. Yesterday I was all over the place! Talk about one step backwards.....so my "mentor" says to me "Shoot 10 shots at the back (blank side) of the target". So I flip the target and he says "now just try and get them in the middle of the paper". I PUT 6 SHOTS IN THE X-RING! had two that got away from me (that I called) and two just outside of the group of six! What is up with that. I've never shot a group like that.....looked like bench rest shooting. So what am I doing when I can see the black......chasing the bullseye?

toyfj40
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by toyfj40 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:39 pm

glad your 'mentor' wasn't at our range...
folks would have just gone back behind the target to fire!!
-- jes-kidding... (I hope)...

congrats. I'm sure there's some explanation besides
astrology, biorythms and global-warming...

-- toy

wlambert
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

Post by wlambert » Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:12 pm

That shows that you are snapping at the bullseye. Your coach could load a dummy round in your magazine, and you would be able to see the flinch when the gun doesn't fire.

You are snapping off the shot when everything looks right. Not a good way to get a good score. Let the gun wobble around and squeeze off the shot. You should not know when the gun is going to go off. You get the good groups when you don't anticipate the shot.