Help with Cheap 1911

The place to discuss your favorite centerfire pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

hotroderx

Help with Cheap 1911

Post by hotroderx » Sat Mar 12, 2011 6:44 pm

Would like some opinions. I am in the market for a 1911A1 looking for basic don't need fancy I am still new to guns. I was originally looking for a Rocky Island Tactical but cant find one. I did find out about Citadel I can get one for 434 out the door. Can anyone give me any input. Should I go with Citadel or save up and get the Springfield. I am looking at a GI model I don't want to terribly fancy.

bigfatdave
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by bigfatdave » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:23 pm

I like my Citadel a lot.
it came with the features I wanted and didn't have ones I dislike.
Example: I need the beavertail for my big hands, but an ambition safety is a problem for EDC in my selected holster (supertuck)

Hakaman
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by Hakaman » Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:49 am

Have you ever considered a Taurus PT1911 ? I have one,
and it suits me just fine. I think all 1911's are built so they
can interchange parts. In other words, a Taurus might not
be very much different then other basic 1911's.
Haka

bigfatdave
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by bigfatdave » Sun Mar 13, 2011 1:03 pm

Taurus guns are not as interchangeable as most 1911 clones, actually.
I forget the exact differences, but some parts do not interchange without major work.

greener

Post by greener » Sun Mar 13, 2011 1:58 pm

The $400 Armscor 1911's (Citadel, RIA, etc) are fairly good buys. I know a few folks who, like Dave, haven't been disappointed with them as basic, pretty dependable 1911's. The lower priced ones have the GI sights which are a bit small and difficult for my aging eyes.