OVERTHROATING?

The place to discuss your favorite centerfire pistols.

Moderators: Bullseye, Moderators

jaeger45
Regular contributor
Regular contributor

OVERTHROATING?

Post by jaeger45 » Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:40 pm

OVERTHROATING?

A friend had his Para 16.40 "fine-tuned"- his words - by a gunsmith. Who, apparently, turned out to be a "gonesmith."

These are the results:

Overthroating?

Any remedy, or is it too far gone?
A bad shot is often caused by a loose nut behind the buttplate

recumbent
Advanced contributor
Advanced contributor

Post by recumbent » Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:03 pm

I'm no expert but I'd say too far gone.

It's easy to remove metal but hard to put it back, especially in the chamber.
"I seek not to know all the answers, but to understand the questions."
- Kwai Chang Caine -

Bullseye
Site Admin/Host
Site Admin/Host

Post by Bullseye » Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:30 pm

Time for a new barrel. Plus I'd be taking that barrel and bulged case back to the hacker and have him pony up for the new one.

R,
Bullseye

greener

Post by greener » Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:09 am

I don't think I'd be shooting that pistol until I had a new barrel.

Georgezilla
Master contributor
Master contributor

Post by Georgezilla » Sun Jul 27, 2008 12:30 pm

Looks like he fine tuned it to be ruined. This is one reason why I'm wary of going to any gunsmith without a good pedigree. Thankfully I still haven't needed a smith, so I have time to look.

greener

Post by greener » Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:25 pm

Looks like a hotter load or a weaker casing could result in some real excitement in the chamber. For those of us who don't have a clue about this, anyone know what he thought he was doing?

bearandoldman
Ye Loquacious Olde Pharte

Post by bearandoldman » Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:56 pm